You asked: What are the 4 hockey divisions?

The four division names are Atlantic, Metropolitan, Central and Pacific. The Atlantic and Metropolitan divisions make up the Eastern Conference and each division has eight teams. The Central and Pacific divisions make up the Western Conference and have seven teams in each division.

What were the old NHL divisions?

A Look at the Old NHL Divisions and Conferences

  • The Eastern Conference was comprised of the Atlantic, Northeast and Southeast divisions.
  • The Western Conference was comprised of the Central, Western and Pacific divisions.

How do hockey divisions work?

The top three teams in each division earn automatic berths (six teams per conference) and the next two teams in the conference earn wild-card spots. The First Round pits the top ranked team in the conference against the lower ranked wild-card and the other division winner against the higher ranked wild-card.

How many NHL teams are in the Central Division?

The release of the 2013-14 regular-season schedule Friday included the debut of the four new division names for the realigned NHL. The League went to a realigned format for geographic purposes and has decided to stick with geographic names for the four new divisions.

THIS IS FUN:  How are NHL divisions split?

What were the NHL divisions in the 1980s?

Clarence Campbell Conference

New York Islanders 80 110
Philadelphia Flyers 80 97
Calgary Flames 80 92
New York Rangers 80 74

How many quarters are there in hockey?

A regular game consists of three 20-minute periods, with a 15-minute intermission after the first and second periods. Teams change ends for each period. If a tie occurs in a medal-round game, a five-minute sudden-victory overtime period is played.

What does GA mean in hockey?

Don’t know your PIM from your PCT?

GA Goals against. Empty net goals do not count towards a goaltender’s goals against. Goals scored during a shootout do not count towards a goaltender’s goals against.
SA Shots against.
GAA Goals-against average.
S Saves.

What does SOG mean in hockey?

SOG. Shots on goal. This refers to the number of times a player has directed the puck directly at the goal. Also refers to the number of shots on goal faced by a goaltender.

Is Arizona moving to the Central division?

On December 4, 2018, it was announced that the team will move to the Central Division in 2021, changing divisions for the second time since relocating to Arizona, as part of a league realignment following the addition of the Seattle Kraken.

What division is the Nashville Predators in?

The Seattle Kraken are a professional ice hockey team based in Seattle. The Kraken compete in the National Hockey League (NHL) as a member of the Pacific Division in the Western Conference and began play during the league’s 2021–22 season.

What were the first 4 NHL teams?

So, who were the original 4 teams? When the NHL had its inaugural season in 1917 there were four teams: Montreal Wanderers, Montreal Canadiens, Toronto Arenas, and the Ottawa Senators. The NHL did have a fifth franchise, the Quebec Bulldogs, however it was an inactive franchise and did not play any games.

THIS IS FUN:  Does an air hockey table have no friction?

How many divisions are in the NHL 2021?


There are four divisions — the North, West, Central, and East — with the North featuring all seven Canadian teams. Here’s how it all looks: Along with the divisions, the playoff format will also have a different look.

Did the NHL get rid of conferences?

The Eastern Conference (French: Conférence de l’Est) is one of two conferences in the National Hockey League (NHL) used to divide teams. Its counterpart is the Western Conference.

Eastern Conference (NHL)

Sport Ice hockey
Founded 1974 (as the Prince of Wales Conference), Suspended for 2020–21 Reactivated in 2021
No. of teams 16